Advisory Council

CAFF’s advisory committee was formed in 2010, with the goal of providing invaluable advice and ideas to help the organization expand its mission of improving the sustainability of food and farming systems. The committee is made up of the following members:


Michael Pollan

Michael Pollan is a best selling author and local food advocate.


Alice Waters

Alice Waters is the owner of Chez Panisse, a champion of locally grown food, a celebrated cookbook author and is considered the “mother of modern American cooking.”


Natalie Compagni

Natalie Compagni is a Sonoma County farmer and clinical psychologist.


Cathy Curtis

Cathy Curtis is the owner of Curtis Financial Planning and manages the Bay Gourmet programs for the Commonwealth Club of San Francisco. She is also the Board President for the Center for Urban Education about Sustainable Agriculture (CUESA).


John Diener

John Diener is the owner of Red Rock Ranch in Five Points and the 2009 winner of the Leopold Conservation Award.


Anya Fernald

Anya Fernald is the CEO of Belcampo Meat Co.


Bill Fujimoto

Bill Fujimoto is a Bay Area produce expert and owner of Bill Fujimoto Consulting.


Deborah Koons Garcia

Deborah Koons Garcia is a filmmaker and producer of The Future of Food.


Mas Masumoto

David Mas Masumoto is an author and owner of Masumoto Family Farm in Fresno.


Dr. Preston Maring

Dr. Preston Maring is the founder of Kaiser Permanente’s farmers markets and farm to healthcare advocate.


Sam Mogannam

Sam Mogannam is the owner Bi-Rite Market and Bi-Rite Creamery in San Francisco, and founder of 18 Reasons, a food- and artfocused community center.


Jennifer Snyder

Jennifer Snyder is the forecasting and planning manager and community programs advisor at The Clif Bar Family Foundation.


Naomi Starkman

Naomi Starkman is a food policy media consultant, co-founder of and board member of 18 Reasons.

Download mp3